Cross Country Caps Off Their Season at NWAC Championships

Cross Country Caps Off Their Season at NWAC Championships

The Umpqua Community College Cross Country teams capped off their season at the NWAC Championships on Monday, November 8. Both teams had tremendous improvements from a year ago. The women finished 5th with the men finishing in the 6th position. Last season the women finished 7th and the men finished 9th. Winning the men's competition was Spokane with 19 points with Lane winning the women's division with 22 points.  

Paesen Timm once again paced the RiverHawks with a 19th overall finish with a time of 27:45. Finishing in the number two spot was Konrad Raum in 28th place (28:09) followed closely by Jaime Meija-German in 30th (28:17) and Derek O'Connor in 33rd (28:25). Rounding out the top five for the first time this season was Ben Teslyuk in 49th overall with a time of 29:48. Also competing for the team was Tristan Wood , Tucker Clement and Tyler Lindsey. "I am very impressed with this team," said Coach King. "They are one of the most coachable group of men and women that I've had and their improvements showed." 

For the women Jasmine Lake led the way with a 13th overall finish in a time of 20:15. The next four were all within a minute of each other. Savanna Waters crossed the line in 26th place (21:06) followed by Jaesa Ruchti in 29th (21:12), Rylee Parsons in 32nd (21:37) and Michel Bartlett (22:07). "Our number four and five were key to our finish," said Coach King. "They have made tremendous much that as our number five, Michel moved into our top 10 and was faster than our number one from a year ago." 

When comparing last season to this season, the men improved by 8:24 in total team time from a with the women improving an impressive 9:39 in total team time. "We are very excited for our future as all of our top women are all freshmen and four of our five men are freshmen," stated an excited Coach King. 

UCC Women

13. Jasmine Lake 20:15

26. Savanna Waters  21:06

29. Jaesa Ruchti  21:12

32. Rylee Parsons  21:37

41. Michel Bartlett 22:07

57.  Ashanti Potter 24:15

67.  Alli Paschall 26:29


19. Paesen Timm 27:48

28. Konrad Raum 28:09

30. Jaime Meija-German 28:17

33. Derek O'Connor 28:25

49. Ben Teslyuk 29:48

52. Tristan Wood 30:09

54. Tucker Clement 30:25

66. Tyler Lindsey 33:17